March pt. 2

Below you’ll find the 5 photos I liked the least of the 25.

1.

I noticed that most of these photos failed in one regard. They were ‘blah’. There just wasn’t anything immediately eye catching that popped or drew the eye. Nor anything unusual or different. Such was the case with this. It doesn’t see beyond the fence, but then again, maybe it’s not supposed to see beyond the fence. That in itself may be the redeeming point of this photo. What it suggests by focal point.

2.

I like the colors. It’s almost like it’s just out there floating in space… which in fact it is divorced of context. Again, doesn’t say much of anything. And I cut off the bottom left of the symbol.

3.

Yay!! a tree… I’m a big fan of the branches as they seem to be doing their own thing and some of the angles are truly interesting.. It doesn’t tell much of a story, nor is it incredibly beautiful to look at, but I do like the busyness of the bare limbs.

4.

We have a building… a restaurant to be exact. It’s actually not too bad when it comes to symmetry and I could see this as a scene. If it’s lacking anything it’s only the activity that would tell a story on its canvas.

5.

This seemed like a good idea at the time. It is bits and pieces of the letters and words marking out the businesses claiming those particular parking spots. This one just didn’t turn out as well as it looked on the screen. I do like the ‘y’ turned ‘v’ at the bottom and may find use for it with a different orientation. The texture of the pavement comes across well here which is fun.

So there you have it. Some good and bad in reference to the 5 photos that I liked the least. I use exercises like this one to help me discover what I value. How I judge something directly reflects my values. If I value a specific kind of symmetry or lighting, I’ll look for things that possess that. It’s important to go beyond the negative to the positive however. In looking for the good in things that we usually dismiss quickly, we may find a new aesthetic or something hidden a little deeper that we love but were unaware of previously.

Part 3 to come. I plan to post the final project results Saturday. See you then!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Create... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

