My May Play

This past weekend was a day for play. If you remember, May’s challenge was to take a day and follow the little urges that we so often ignore or argue against. Sunday afternoon provided me with the opportunity, maybe the only one the month, and I jumped on it.

It was an incredible day spent with friends and family and the little urges turned out to be a wonderful blessing. The first was a spontaneous photo session with three little puppies. Blossom, Casper and Velvet were more concerned with playing and eating (my shoes among other things) than the fact that I was taking pictures, but it was great fun! Speaking of eating shoes, this is Casper hard at work on my toe.

Afterwards I went to spend time with my niece who spoils me every time I hear that she’s asking for me. This was one of those days and we played. I love it every time I get to drumming and she starts dancing. We had our own little dance session in the living room with her and her brother letting loose to the beat coming from a large inflated ball. Which by the way is a very fun percussive toy. There are some really interesting things you can do with the rounded surface.

I stopped in to download a few things to watch later and followed the last little leading of the day. It resulted in a stew party. I called a lot of friends and asked them to come over at 6, bringing with them an ingredient they’d put in a stew. We mixed them all together and cooked it up and it was incredible! Both the time with friends, some of which I’ve not seen in quite a while, and the stew which included beef stock, water, peas, green beans, potatoes, onion, carrots, cilantro, rosemary, parsley, worcestershire sauce, brown sugar and chicken sauteed in ginger oil. I think that’s it. I’ve received more compliments on that stew and the really fun part is not being able to take credit for any of it. We had no idea what we were going to get, and everyone was a part of the creation, including of course the Creator.Wishing I’d thought to get pictures here, but alas my camera isn’t yet an extension of my body.

It was a great day! Have you done the challenge yet? How was your day?

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My May Play

  1. Josie says:

    You have to have a stew party again because this time I want to eat some of the creation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

