a challenge for June

A new month is here, and with a new month comes a new challenge. To begin look at this quote from Michelangelo.

In every block of marble I see a statue as plain as though it stood before me, shaped and perfect in attitude and action. I have only to hew away the rough walls that imprison the lovely apparition to reveal it to the other eyes as mine see it.”—Michelangelo

This thought has always impressed me. I love the picture of both the artist’s vision and his desire to share. As a writer, I find that I am also responsible for the construction of my block of marble. I believe the act of painting may be the same for me as well. But once the initial form is present, it becomes a long work of construction and extraction until the work is complete and other eyes can see the work “as mine see it”. It is this idea that yields our challenge this month.

Take a creative project of your choice. Your choice of medium is up to you. Create or choose your block of marble and then daily “hew away the rough walls that imprison the lovely apparition”. By this, I mean the process of actively doing. For a writer this is a repeated process of rewrites, revisions and edits. For a painter, it is a manner of sketching, drawing, and adding layer after layer until the work is complete. A key element of this exercise is to realize that you will come up against obstacles and you will make what appear to be (and may be) mistakes. Do not let them stop you! They are the things that you must hew away to get to the finished product. You may not always recognize them as such at first, but in the act of doing they are made clear and you are able to extricate them from the whole.

I recommend scheduling time for this project as a necessity. Whether it is daily or weekly, make time. Some of you may finish while others may only begin the journey, but the journey and the experience is the point of the exercise. Go forth and discover!

Cheers!

 

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

