questions lead to more questions with every answer

A bit of a long subject line, but this is one of the realities of hewing away chunks of what isn’t part of your creation. I began writing down the general ideas for a short story today that was generated from some scientific advances of the past year and a contest. The initial idea hit and so I started writing. Today I wrote in BIG BROAD STROKES and generalities, but that process was in itself an answer to questions about the story. Who? What? When? Where? Why? How? Here’s the thing, as I wrote and these questions began to be answered I was faced with more specific questions that are pertinent to the story. In this case, they are questions about telescopes. Namely, which ones can be used from a object moving through space at approximately 1/10 the speed of light? What would the range of the telescope be? How much energy and space would it take up? How would it have to be set up? How would that impact the design of the spacecraft? What could you discover about the planet with the telescopes you can use under these circumstances? And so on…

So as you can see there is a progression of questions that are actually very necessary to the story even though they are also extraneous. These details help to profoundly impact the characters and will in essence be a large part of how and why the story develops the way it does. These are things that are important to the characters and therefore, necessary for me as the author. So I ask questions that lead to questions that lead to more questions until I have all the answers I need to faithfully tell the story. In the end, I’ll have the finished work to share, but it begins with the broad strokes, with the removal of the large chunks of stone, with the general outline and then is refined ever further with greater and greater specific detail until I can show you what I see.

Here’s to your experience – cheers!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

