a most dangerous enemy

Today, I lost a significant chunk of time to my enemy. It wasn’t like someone walked up, put a gun to my head and said, “There will be no more writing today.” Somehow I think that’s an enemy I could deal with. This enemy is far more devious and he excels at using a mercenary of the highest order: me. I think the most dangerous enemy is not necessarily the strongest one. It is the enemy that knows of and can exploit every weakness. You see he knows my price.

It’s a strange picture. Me being hired to stop me, but I think that’s a good way of looking at it. As I just said, the enemy knows my price. He knows what I’ll work for. For those that want something a little more tangible, I’ll tell you how cheap I was this time. I took out a hit on myself for a $0.99 video game on my phone. Specifically, an RPG a la Final Fantasy with a fun story line. Did I mention that I’m a video game addict? I love them even when I don’t love them. And so I found myself playing it until 4am this morning and again for a couple hours this morning until my better brain fought back. Now for my more abstract thinkers, you might read this as a situation where I sacrificed the best for the good, the long term satisfaction for the immediate return, and you’d be right.

How did this happen? Quite simply I wasn’t on my guard. I know myself as well, and I know those places where I’m flirting with danger. I knew the risk and courted it with gusto only to find myself looking up at the ceiling after a fairly sound beating. The enemy won this battle, and as a result I’ve lost time that could’ve been used on better tasks. Time to spend creating and building rather than simply consuming.

So I caution you as I do myself. We need to be wary of those good things that get in the way of the best things and keep us from fulfilling our mission. Distraction is devastating. The most dangerous enemy only results to force if there is no other option. He would rather turn us against ourselves and he is incredibly good at it. Know yourself and be careful! Heck, maybe even get help. Think to the classic fantasy or even that RPG and recall the heroes that join the hero along the way so he can accomplish the task. It’s better that way. They may even outbid the enemy for your mercenary self to work in your favor.

Cheers!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

