daily play – childish foolishness

I believe the foolishness of children is sometimes wiser than the wisdom of the aged. Today, I watched as boys played basketball in the rain and fondly remembered the days when I did the same. A little later, a large group of these same middle school students were in the middle of a parking lot dancing the Cupid Shuffle in the rain. This was followed by Michael Jackson’s Thriller. A part of me wishes I’d joined them. It is that part of me that remembers when I didn’t mind getting wet. It reminds me of when my hunger for things was greater than my concern over safety or potential problems like wet feet and catching a cold. I can always take the expensive cell phone out of my pocket until I come in out of the rain, can’t I? After all, forethought is a blessing of wisdom.

Since the majority of us who are adults are far more adept at forethought than spontaneity, I challenge you to find a little childish foolishness and join in. Are you wondering what childish foolishness might be? If you’re like me, fond remembrance of the days when you would do something like that might be a clue. That inner parental voice that chides you or criticizes others for certain ideas or things you see might be another indicator. That said, go do something that doesn’t make sense by normal adult standards. Leave the umbrella at home in downpour and walk in the rain. Yes, walk – don’t run. Play in the puddles while wearing a three-piece suit. Mix all the foods together on your plate and dare someone else to eat it. I think you get the picture.

So there is your challenge. Go be a foolish child for a little bit and remember what it feels like. Please come back by and share your foolishness and any wisdom you discovered in the process.

Have fun!!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

