reconnect

There are days where the work of creating is simply difficult. I’m in the midst of one of those days right now, at least in regard to the project I want to work on. It won’t flow and I’ve now spent the past hour and a half laboring for a mere 500 words. I’d probably be less bothered by this if it hadn’t flowed so easily last night. Why is this happening? Why is it so hard today? These are questions I can ask, but I’m not sure I should bother. I have to realize that I may not want an answer either. A part of me is struggling right now to endorse “I don’t know” as the correct answer, but I’m not sure it is something beyond me to understand. I don’t know feels wrong. So, what then?

The word disconnect keeps coming into my mind. This I’m realizing is not a bad thing. Where is the disconnect? It could be between me and the Creator. It could be between me and this particular story. It could be between me and myself. Regardless, their is an obstacle to be overcome, which reminds of something I’d like to remind you of. There is more than one way to overcome an obstacle.

I’ve tried going through this one by pressing on, but it hasn’t succeeded in breaching the dam. Now, I am walking away for a bit. In essence, it’s time to find another way up the path. I’m going to try to go around it. What could that be? For one, working on different projects. I don’t have only one thing going on at a time. I find that for me there are days where one project flows and another is blocked. I personally think it wise to take the path that is most easily and naturally flowing. I might say it this way (to myself as well!). “Take a hint!” I’ve even found that this approach is sometimes the thing that indirectly removes the block.

Other possibilities include literally doing something else. Go paint. Go for a walk. Meditate or pray. You might also change the rules. Go about it in a different way. This includes techniques like that espoused by Rachel Held Evans. She offers a suggestion of adding parameters and limitations to overcome block. It might even be something as simple as changing location, or grabbing a pen and paper and writing longhand. Do you have a personal recorder? Talk it out. As we’ve heard before, there are many ways to skin a cat.

Finally, “ask and you shall receive”. Pray for inspiration and the removal of whatever it is that’s standing in your way. I can attest from experience that each of these has worked for me in the past. Just remember there’s no golden key that turns every lock. Just keep going and you’ll get the reconnect.

Cheers!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

