daily play – descriptive script

Howdy doody! Greetings and salutations on this fine Tuesday.

Strangely this daily play challenge stemmed from an unexpected dilemma on Friday. I found myself with an inability to write in any of my current projects. Why? Well, largely because I have some research to do before I’m ready to continue on in  discovering where they go from here. And with no regard for the uncomfortable position this creates for me, my daily word count goal sits in silent judgment over me. An unspoken demand that I fulfill my promise to maintain this habitual creation of words. “What do I do?!”, I asked in exasperation.

and the answer came…

Write! What? Yes, write. Write to become a better writer. Where do you suggest I begin? Describe things. Really? Yes.

I was left with no option but to comply, and I had to admit it was better than any idea I’d come up with. So, I began by describing the patio furniture that was staring at me from the other, non air conditioned side of the window. It was hugely beneficial, and as I described the same things over and over again it challenged my creativity and birthed new ideas as to what this image could be symbolic of. Have you picked out where I’m going yet? Of course you have, your smart people.

Today’s daily play is this. Sit down and write descriptively. Choose something to describe and do it repeatedly in different ways. By repeatedly, I am going to say a minimum of 5 times. For at least one of them try to describe it very literally. Make at least one abstract as well. Play with the remainder and see where it takes you!

As always, have fun!

Kirk

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to daily play – descriptive script

  1. Pingback: wherever the description takes you | [My]Cube

Leave a Reply

