go for it!

I met a young man in Starbucks today and we began visiting over coffee. I have no idea why, but he suddenly asked if I was a writer. Please note that I had nothing on the table with me but a cup of coffee and a closed Franklin Covey planner so it wasn’t as obvious as some who’ve seen me with my laptop around town would think.

He told me he had an idea for a book. I told him to write it. To shorten the story, everything he said that followed were questions that, whether they were real concerns or not, were excuses. I don’t believe they were excuses intended for me, but excuses he was giving himself. I don’t say this to deride him at all because I did the same thing. I still find myself falling into that trap at times. Having experienced it my return advice was the same over and over again. “Write it!”

Why? I’ve learned that there is nothing I can understand by thought without action. I can give voice to my fears, but ultimately I must face them. In a circumstance like this there is one response to all fears. Write it! Paint it! Sculpt it! Do it!

Is there something you’d like to do but are waffling on? Don’t hesitate; Go for it! Are you afraid of failing? Don’t be afraid; Go for it! Are you worried about the unknown? You’ll always be facing the unknown; Go for it!

What desires are you avoiding action on by making excuses? What are your fears? How have you faced them?

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

