creating from life

Are you struggling to create? It may be that your well is empty. But what fills the well?

Living. Simply living.

All artisans need tools and resources. Some are the physical tools of creation: paint, canvas, brush; paper and ink; clay. These however are the servants. The masters are the mind, the muse, the passions and these have their root in a full life. But what is a full life? Now there is a question! One I’m afraid I’m ill equipped to answer with more than glimpses of truth from my own experience. For today, let me simply say that it begins by engaging the world around us. If we run from the world, we will never come to understand it. Nor will we be confused by it. We will never see it’s simple truths or it’s profound mysteries. We will miss the struggles. We will miss the great successes. In a way, the size of your world will directly impact the level of your creative resources.

Think of it this way. I want to cook a magnificent feast! If I cannot leave my home, then I have only the resources of my own experience, the cookbooks that I own and the ingredients and tools that are in my home. If, however, I go to a single store, I greatly expand my resources. What if I talk to chefs and grandmothers to mine their own experience and knowledge? What if I make my way to specialty spice shops, farmer’s markets and faraway lands? The further I stretch, the more I have to work with. Furthermore, the experience and knowledge I gain in the pursuit of something greater will yield permanent additions to my store of tools, understanding and resources.

Over the next few weeks I’m going to take a more specific look at places where we can grow in our lives. I hope it will be an inspiration and a challenge to live a bigger life while providing ideas for filling the well. I guarantee it will help you grow as a creator.

Are you setting out to build the feast of the ages from your pantry stores and growing frustrated? Have you set out on a quest for new recipes, new ingredients, new ideas? What has it yielded in the past?

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

