living: nice to meet me

Pretend for a moment that I’m a close friend and you’re telling me all about this great new person you’ve met. You dance around all the little things that season the relationship thus far with a huge smile plastered to your face. Then, because I care about you, I ask the question. “How much do you really know about this person?” You try to answer. You repeat things you’ve already said. You begin sputtering under pressure, and then acknowledge it. “Not much.”

I wonder how many of us have this kind of relationship with ourselves. How much do you really know about you?

I encourage you to spend a little time getting to know yourself. It’s just like getting to know a new friend. Spend time with yourself. Observe how you act around other people. Talk about the things you like and don’t like. Study yourself. It may seem a little foolish but it’s incredibly freeing. Here are a few practical ways to start.

  1. Personality tests – I’m fond of the Myers-Briggs and Enneagram models. The latter is a wonderful new discovery that is designed to help understand core personality and healthy and unhealthy tendencies.
  2. Talk to your friends about you and give them the freedom of brutal honesty.
  3. Spend time alone. Meditate. Daydream.
  4. Answer one random question a day. Books exist that can help you with this. A couple examples: What would you do if you won the lottery? or What would you do if there were no obstacles?
  5. Stage an argument with yourself.

These are just a few starting ideas because you are an incredible person and you should get to know you. Not to mention it’ll help identify those rough edges that could do with a little smoothing out. There is great joy in being true to yourself. There is great bondage and frustration in trying to be someone else. These discoveries have been immense blessings in my life. It’s a reason that I can say I’m an artist without fear, shame or worry. It’s one of the reasons I dare to dream in realms I would deny myself before. Trust me, it’s worth the effort to invest in this relationship.

How well do you know you?

Cheers!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to living: nice to meet me

  1. I loved this… I really began the journey of truly getting to know myself last year. It’s definitely not always easy but it’s certainly beautiful.
    ~ Alanna

Leave a Reply

