living – the silver lining in there

“Always look on the bright side of life.”

This is one of those simple things that usually ends up being very difficult, but is also something that can truly change your life. I happen to believe there is good to be found in all things. Even when it looks like my life is falling down around my ears. I have a good reason to believe this is true because I believe in a loving God who happens to love me in particular. You don’t have to share this belief to be an optimist however, and it is an optimist that I would encourage you to become.

Too many of us live a life of desperate fear. We’re even terrified of hope. Why? Because hope isn’t a guarantee and we people, places, things might fail us. We might get hurt. We like a safe life, which ties to another aspect of abundant living that we’ll talk more about next time. But safety is an illusion. I encourage you in this to break down the protective barriers of cynicism and be willing to believe that the impossible is possible, and that the worst seeming of situations can be a source of enlightenment, growth, investment, blessing, creativity… I think you get the picture.

Some may respond by telling me that it is a fool who refuses to look at the world as it is. They see optimism as an escape from the realities of this broken world. I must challenge this statement by saying it also applies in reverse. What if “the world as it is” is far better than the world they paint. Our world view after all is a result of our experience and how we’ve chosen to respond to and interpret those experiences. I would argue that it requires much greater strength of heart and character to believe that it does to live a life of skepticism. It is to live in a world without walls, gates or locks.

The silver lining is there. It’s always there! I have personally born witness to this truth. Sometimes we have to look for it a little harder than others, but it is there. So, rather than worry it might not be there, it might let you down, seek it out. After all, another truth for you is this one. You’ll never find what you will not look for. So I hope that you will choose to believe in the greater things, the impossible things, the beautiful things, the hopes and the dreams of legend and keep your eyes open.

Remember, the silver lining is there. It’s time to look!

Do you believe in the presence of the silver lining? Are you a cynic, realist, optimist? How has that played out in your life?

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to living – the silver lining in there

  1. Anne Barringer says:

    The silver lining or reason some things happen, is there. Many times it’s hard to see, or to understand why, until time passes and allows the film of sorrow, or wall of anger to fall from your eyes. Even then, you sometimes have to look harder to see it for what it is. I don’t know how many times personally I’ve had to wonder why things happen, but slowly I’m adopting the “there has to be a good reason” search parameter into my temper tantrums instead of waiting for the tempest to blow over. I have always been a “the glass is half full” kinda gal, but the growing number of life experiences have made me wonder sometimes when someone is ;handing me that glass, are they going to turn it over and let most of the goodness out? Yet still, the glass is half full of potential and I will still reach for it.

    And sometimes, it’s right there before your eyes. Sometimes we all look too hard for something when a simple deep breath and a look around, will show that shimmering silver just waiting to be snatched up and held on to. It’s one of the reasons I love Eureka, CA. Here, no matter how I’m feeling, I can go outside and find beauty and a zest for living, creating my own silver lining until the real deal shows up. Or maybe that’s the point. lol. Plus the folk here are truly amazing.

    Finding something new, exciting, unusual or beautiful each day, makes for a much better day. And there is always something new, you just have to open yourself to it.

Leave a Reply

