whatever…

So, have you spent a little time doing whatever? I hope so. Regardless, here is a small peak into the fruit of my own “whatever” day spent traipsing around The Avenue at Carriage Crossing.

This is The Avenue at Carriage Crossing. OK, so it is a small representation of The Avenue. Picture a central hub with four separate avenues. Each avenue is lined with stores like the photo above with parking in the middle. It’s a pretty impressive display of American consumerism and on Friday it was also empty. Dead.

To begin with I’m not a shopper. For one, I have very little money to shop with, but more importantly, I don’t really want much. I am not sure why I decided to come here. It was right there and I did. The whole time feeling like I was wasting my time. But I got a surprise. Yes, the whole place was empty and I say that with implications of more than just a lack of people. Being a man who doesn’t bow down to materialism leaves me with very little to do in a place built to the idol of stuff. Just when I began questioning why I’d come, a small bronze statuette caught my eye.

To me it stood for something very different than the shopping center it stood in. My phone became the device to capture these little glimpses of valuable life in bronze. I say valuable life because they all represented something other than what I’ve sometimes referred to as retail therapy or a retail lifestyle that proclaims proudly, “You can purchase happiness!” So I pulled out my phone and began clicking away, trying to capture the heart of each sculpture and remind myself of things too often forgotten. So with no further word from me, here are a few of those photos. I hope they speak to you as they have me.

Did I mention I played hopscotch? Hope you have as much fun as I did. Cheers!

& have fun…

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Create... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to whatever…

  1. Jenny says:

    I don’t get out to Carriage Crossing that often, ’cause Collierville is not close, but I love it every time we go. Especially on a nice day or night, it’s nicer to walk around there than in an indoor mall. They usually have music playing, too, which lends to a nice atmosphere.

    • Kirk says:

      It’s kind of an interesting place. About the only store I generally stop at is Barnes & Nobles, but I love the unrelated things. If you catch them during the summer they even have live music at times.

Leave a Reply

