living: you’re special! treat yourself that way

Good afternoon!

I rediscovered a very simple, but oft overlooked reality this week when I took myself shopping. The complete blowout of the knee in one pair of pants effectively ended their useful life. It was time to go shopping. So, I did.

Now, I’ve not bought any clothes for myself that I really wanted or liked in a long time. For one, it’s difficult to find things that fit when your 6’4″ with a 32″ waist, but more often than not, it’s because it involves more money than I feel comfortable spending.

But…

this time I wanted to buy something I really liked and really wanted. So, I hit the stores. I found what I was looking for and got it at a great price. Funny that I still questioned whether I should be spending that money or not. Anyway, since you’re probably wondering where I’m going with this at this point, I’ll tell you. I put those clothes on and I felt great. I didn’t even realize the effect it had on me until Sunday morning. I looked good. I felt good. I was even more bold and open than usual and strangely enough it had something to do with the clothes I was wearing. The clothes were worth every penny!

Of course, it wasn’t the clothes themselves that caused the change, but they did represent something. The represented a self image I’m proud of. It was a form of affirmation for me. Getting those clothes was a treat for myself that was similar to looking myself in the eye and telling myself I am who I want to be. It is an action that helps shape you into the person you want to be.

To put it another way, if you are someone who wants to be rich. You’re told to act like someone who has money. There are obvious limitations to this, but in principle it is sound. It’s a matter of the mind. You have to believe it and belief is married to action.

So, an aspect of healthy living is to take care of yourself. As someone who often cares for others, I have to remind myself that this is incredibly important when the temptation is to neglect myself. Asceticism is not always a good thing. When I am well cared for, I am better able to care for others. Not to mention that if my standard of care for myself is high and I live out the Golden Rule, then my standard of care for others will be high as well. But I digress, and there is likely more than enough food for thought already in these words.

Think on it. Where could you use a little special treatment? What can you do for yourself that makes you feel like the person that you want to be?

Cheers!

Kirk

P.S. – this post spawned a challenge for self care… go treat yourself!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to living: you’re special! treat yourself that way

  1. Pingback: daily play: treat yourself | [My]Cube

Leave a Reply

