who’s in your corner?

Some of you might recognize this face from the movie Rocky. He was Rocky’s trainer Mickey. The man had a profound impact on Rocky in boxing and in life. He was the man in Rocky’s corner. Today’s a combination Living: and Daily Play asking the question “Who’s in your corner?”

We need people who know us and support us. It’s the combination of the two that is most powerful. They see our faults as well as our shining moments and both in spite of and because of these things that make us who we are, they cheer us on. They love us. As Mickey put it to Rocky, “Get up you son of a bitch ’cause Mickey loves you.” They keep us going when we’ve been knocked down time and time again.

Last night I was reminded of a truth that is a struggle for me. It’s the reminder that God’s in my corner. The reminder that Jesus loves me and is there cheering me on in my fight and, dare I say it, yelling at times, “Get up you son of a bitch ’cause (Jesus) loves you.” It’s a real danger to take the criticism of men as coming from God, especially for artists. It’s an even greater danger to take the criticism of self as coming from God. Ask Him and let Him answer for Himself how He sees you. I think you will be, as I was, surprised at the answer. The peace He gave me last night was overwhelming. He wants me to succeed. He wants to give me the desires of my heart. He loves me. Enough to whip me into shape for the fight. Enough to tell me hard things. Enough to make me get up when I’m scared or when I’m beaten down and don’t want to get up anymore. Enough to never let me forget He loves me even more than all that.

So how does this tie into daily play? Let’s talk visualization. If you’re anything like me, then this is a struggle for you. Maybe the imagery is boxing, maybe it isn’t, but I want you to picture God/Jesus in your corner cheering you on in something you’re embattled in right now. See it. Believe it.

… Jesus loves you.

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand..., Explore... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

