pick a book play

The book I picked is one that has remained in my bag since I bought it a few weeks ago. It is, as of yet, unread. “The Princess and the Goblin” by George MacDonald. The 5th sentence on the 25th page yielded the following scene. Hope you enjoy!

“I’m sure I beg your pardon, Princess,” she said, though still in an offended tone.

The Lady Marion sighed. “We must do something about that attitude of yours.” The young woman scowled at her teacher and was met by raised eyebrows.

“My dear,” the Lady entreated, “this will never do. You must control this defiant spirit if you intend to infiltrate the court.”

Her eyes burned with threatening tears.

“You are still far too weak.”

The girl shot to her feet. Her body moving with fluid grace until she looked down on her teacher with smoldering eyes.

“Weak?!” she cried as she reached for the short blade at her side. “Come then. Test me!”

“Have I not?”

The question struck her as surely as a well aimed blade. She began to speak and stopped. There were no excuses. She had exhausted them all before to no effect. Lady Marion rose quietly and placed her hand on her shoulder.

“I admire your passion, and even the honesty of your anger, but you must make these things your servants.”

“I know,” she muttered.

“No,” the Lady replied, “you do not. Not yet.” She smiled. “But you will. Now go,” she commanded as she took her seat. “Clear your mind.”

Anaya spun, her hand sliding comfortably to her belt knife. She knew exactly where she could go to do just that.

“Anaya.” Lady Marion’s voice called out over the brush of wood on stone as the door opened. “Stay clear of the training grounds. It is not your blade that needs the work.”

The door closed with a satisfying crash. She rushed down the corridor giving her anger free rein. The image of her teacher sitting quietly in her chair, embroidering only made her more angry. Didn’t she care about anything? A distant voice told her that the woman cared deeply. It was a new addition to the crowded room that was her head. She shoved it aside, but slowed her steps and turned down another hallway. The training grounds would have to wait.

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Create... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

