daily play – a cartful of kid power

I love having kids around! They are bright lights to show us a way to fearless fun, fun I’ve managed to forget at times under the frowning faces of the “adults”.

I expected a few of those frowns today as I steered an extra large, child laden shopping cart through the aisles of Target like a NASCAR driver. My niece and nephew, strapped down and gripping the handle, were laughing the whole way. Meanwhile, their uncle was figuring out just how well an over-sized cart can handle if you know how to treat her right. I had a blast, and the only looks I discovered along the way were stolen glances from people who loved seeing the joy on the kids faces. It probably helped that I didn’t run into any of them. And so a 33 year old with curly hair and a bushy beard wound his way, running, jumping, weaving and riding, through a super store of Christmas shoppers. It’s something I’d happily do again. But it is also a joy I would never have found if it weren’t for those two precious little lights sitting in front of me on that ride.

How does that relate to daily play? Well, if you have kids, then let them take you for a ride. Try to walk there way sometime this week. Take them on a journey they’ll love. And if you don’t have any kids? See about borrowing some for a while. Don’t worry, if you’re remotely trust worthy there are definitely some parents out there who’d be happy to take a holiday break. Oh, and as far as age goes, somewhere between 1 and 7 might be a great place to start.

have fun!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

