Day 15: in their element…

Day 15’s task is to write a brief scene for each character. It is a little more time consuming than many of the other tasks for me, but as with each task the benefits are readily seen. Of the two options given, I chose to place the scenes in the same location for all three characters and in the context of the same events. This really helped draw out differences in how they view the same things. What do they value most? What do they ignore? What will they do or not do? Who are they drawn to? Who do they avoid? How do they relate to one another in this particular context?

This is helping me to better understand a complexity of relational tension between three friends that is key to the story. It’s the first time I’ve been able to set it down in a scene and begin to see how it plays out in their actions. And so my characters continue to become their own living, breathing, thinking, feeling selves. Persons unique from any other.

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

