Day 16: blurb…

Easter celebration kept me busy yesterday which leaves me with ground to make up. Day 16 was a handful however, so playing catch up will fall to tomorrow where the tasks are a bit more related. Why was it a handful? Because I’m a bit verbose and Day 16 is all about trimming the fat. It’s amazing how difficult it can be to sum up the core of the story in 6 sentences to grace the back of your book. In all I fiddled around with at least 6 different ideas before I found one I liked and refined it.

A couple things to note from the process. First, I’m now in agreement, if you cannot distill it down in this way you probably don’t have a grasp of your story. You may not have a story at all. I was very thankful that the better part of my time was spent on ‘how do I say this?’ rather than ‘what do I say?’. I knew what I wanted to sell my reader in hopes of getting them to read on. Second, I recommend keeping your eyes open while you’re completing the steps from other days. I italicized three sentences that slipped onto the page over a week ago. It reeked of blurb from the moment it graced the page. That foresight was a blessing today.

And the result? Here it is…

In the City of the Three Spires, magic and technology wage a silent war for supremacy. While a young king hopes to balance the powers, his closest friend seeks to unite them by uniting the two sciences into one. The completion of an astounding new prototype may provide him that opportunity, but he must first convince its creator to share the confidential data. She, though a long time friend, is the king’s fiancé, and while the wizard’s success would be the realization of a long-held dream, her involvement could spell disaster not only for herself, but for her husband to be. Behind it all a greater question remains to be answered.

Would the warring powers accept such a union?

The telling question: Would this entice you to read more?

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Create... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

