Day 17 & 18: brainstorming…

I’m doing my best to combine two days activities today, and it looks good thus far. Today has not been as cut and dry as I expected it to be. As I began taking the problems these characters will face and processing through potential scenes to take them from discovery to resolution, I realized that the best thing I could do was treat it as a brainstorming session. The cardinal rule of brainstorming is don’t prejudge anything, just write it down. So I did, and now I’m working through the lists of scenes picking and choosing the best. The final step of the day will be taking these scenes and putting them into a chronological order. Nice to know it’s leading to something – an outline!

I have to admit, this one is hitting me in the gut. I tend to be very organic in my approach and struggle with organizing my thoughts beyond a certain point. My mind is one that more easily sees the big picture. So organizing individual pieces separate from the whole is a tedious and difficult job. I run into the same issue teaching, and in that process have learned that I am at my best when I am being peppered with questions. Since I understand all the material well, I can then focus on the information necessary for one particular question. Without that framework, it is difficult for me because I am constantly aware of all the interconnected points and so try to communicate them all. They don’t arrange themselves into a hierarchy of order for me, rather they are simple important parts of the whole.

That may help you to see both the importance and struggle of a task like this one. I see the whole story and know the overall flow it must take. I know what events must happen and which characters must be involved. I do not however, know exactly how that is going to take place in terms of individual scenes. So this is helping me to make decisions about individual scenes. It’s helpful for someone who can’t see the trees for the forest.

Which makes me curious – what kind of person are you? Do you have trouble seeing the forest for the trees, or, like me, is it easier for you to see the forest?

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

