Day 19 & 20… respectively

Wow, it’s kind of amazing to have come to the close of this process. The last four days leave me with a general outline from which to begin writing. It isn’t perfect, but it isn’t supposed to be. I remember Michael Stackpole’s statement regarding this outline. He called it a map for a road trip, and then he reminded us that the map does not take precedence over the road trip. There will inevitably be detours and unexpected stops along the way.

This process was a little different for me. I think much of this may be owed to the depth of story I had already developed before starting “21 Days to a Novel”. I ran the last four days together then recycled them through the steps to add clarity and look for holes or missteps. Overall, I’m not sure it is as effective as his steps, but I was personally having a hard time identifying the specific problems to center scenes around. Too many of the themes were already tightly intertwined in my mind. Fortunately, its current form helps me to recognize those problems more clearly which I hope will help me next time I run things through this framework. And I will use this framework again. It has been a huge help and I feel better prepared to begin writing than I ever have before.

But I am not quite ready to begin. A few little details remain, most of which revolve around naming. Only yesterday did I finally discover the name of the city which helped me settle on a linguistic root for consistency. Funny that today’s transferring of that information also led to discovery of the main religion and philosophy upon which these people were founded. It fits wonderfully with everything else that is in play and adds further depth to the world. Today has also given me a little time to begin work on a fourth character that makes her debut in Book 1, but will not be given voice until Book 2. (I say book 1 and book 2, the reality of that will depend largely on word counts, but I’m pretty sure I’ll need 2. If not, then Part 1 and 2 in a longer work = more work ahead before its done. I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.)

It’s all very exciting and a goal accomplished. I will be ready to begin the novel before the end of the month. Cheers!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

