a different world…

First off, Happy Fathers Day to all the dads out there! I know I am thankful for mine. Building those stairs recently reminded me of the many skills I only have thanks to time working with and watching him. Take some time to thank your dad for all those things he’s done for you.

Several dads at Fellowship Memphis received gifts this morning. One in particular echoed the truth of our changing world. For the dad with the most girls, a $50 gift card to Best Buy. A chance to escape from the world of “Ken and Barbie” with, say, an “Xbox game”. There is a sad truth hidden in those words that speaks to a media culture. It wasn’t that long ago that dad’s escape would have been an act of creation and construction. Cultivating a garden, working on a car, building furniture… the garage was his refuge. Well, there was also the golf course or a good book.

Anyway, this has me trying to spend more time creating, constructing and cultivating than I do consuming. I certainly don’t know about completely giving up these recent forms of entertainment, but it might be a good time to initiate new ones from a previous era.

What will you create this week? What time can you take from the television, DVD player, or Xbox to build, tinker and cultivate?

Have fun!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a different world…

  1. Oh my goodness, this is so spot on. I am a single mom of three little boys, and they crave creating and cultivating. Any day, any hour, they want be with me in the garden, or doing DIY projects or cooking, or with their grandfather in his workshop, rather than inside consuming media. They have a natural aversion to passive consumption that I admire so much! I pray every day that God preserves that in them, that they be producers rather than consumers. I don’t know you personally, Kirk, but especially after reading this, I thank God for you.

    • Kirk says:

      Thank you for your comment. It says much of you and their grandfather that they are living as they do. I think it is much better to live life than to watch it, though I am as guilty as any other of passive consumption, but there is so much more to living! I too hope your boys continue to live a life that creates more than it consumes.

      • Oh, I wish how awesome my kids are did say something about me. But, I’m sure it doesn’t. That’s just how their Creator made them. And now He is teaching me through them. When Jesus says I have to become like a little child to enter the kingdom, I often wonder if He is referring to the wiggling, exploring, learning, playing, running, bug finding, make believing and puddle jumping that seems to be my boys defining quallity. 🙂

      • Kirk says:

        As I read that I have to think that some part of it is in fact that reckless exploration and imagination that too many of us have lost, but we’re all born with. Thank God for kids!

Leave a Reply

