celebrate!

I’m beginning to learn the importance of this one, simple word. Celebration is a powerful tool for life, and I believe it is especially so when it comes to creative endeavors.

Not long ago I was faced with an unexpected demand to clean up my yard. For the most part this meant raking up legions of dead leaves and disposing of them. It was one small step to the dreams I have for the yard that was forced to a higher level of priority. When the work was done, I felt a deep sense of satisfaction and stopped to celebrate. This included sharing the results of my labor with another. It didn’t go as I had expected. Rather than celebrating with me, this person reminded me of all the things that still needed to be done. Thankfully, I didn’t dwell on it.

I needed that moment of celebration. I needed to have achieved the end of a task and succeeded. I needed to stop for a moment and enjoy. It was good!

We need to learn to celebrate the little successes along the way. It is a source of encouragement that should keep driving us forward with joy. We can choose to focus on what’s not good enough and be motivated by fear, or guilt, or shame, doesn’t sound like much fun to me, or we can choose to take pleasure in the work and celebrate each success along the way. In fact, we might even need to celebrate a few of the failures as well.

That said, take a moment to look at your work and enjoy it. Take a moment to say, “This is good!” And when you have the opportunity, encourage others by celebrating their moments with them as well. Avoid the urge to be pragmatic. Trust me, they know what needs to be done as surely as you do. They need your words of encouragement far more and you’ll be amazed at the way it pushes them onward.

Cheers!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

