the “good stickers”…

One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming outside our window today.

Dale Carnegie

Earlier today I caught a short story on the radio. Two women were working together on their scrapbooks when one asked about stickers in a drawer. The other woman would not use them. They were her “good stickers”. Her friend soundly proclaimed her a hoarder and set her in immediate therapy. She made her use the stickers.

I had to laugh. In part because I’ve been there. And strangely this is in keeping with the last post regarding excuses. Life has made me clear quite a few things out. That is the nature of hard times, but I can still remember the things I’ve discovered and kept for the elusive “someday”. One beauty of creative minds is that we can generally find wondrous uses for just about anything, and occasionally it is something truly special. We can already see just what we’ll create with it. That is, when we’re good enough.

Sometimes we hold off on using the “good” stuff because we don’t think we have anything to create that’s worthy of it. I’d use this wood, but it’s so nice I don’t want to mess it up. I’d use this (fill in the blank), but (fill in the blank). How many things do you have that you can fill in the blank with?

My advice, given not only to you but also myself, is to go ahead and use the “good” stuff. Just like the crazy people that pull out the expensive china for pizza night. Live!

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Expand... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

