fast to…

I believe each of us can quickly list off the time wasters in our lives, and we can do so with minimal effort! They are an ever present drain on our productive, creative lives. A drain that all of us would like to plug.

Life can be pretty hard on our creative lives. All to often the attempt to maintain artistic endeavors is like manning a leaky boat. The boat is our glorious ideals; it is the dream of uncharted lands and adventure. Unfortunately, we can barely keep it afloat. Life’s very busy trying to sink us, and it seems to fill the hull effortlessly. We end up spending all our time bailing water and never going anywhere.

As bleak as that image may seem, we can handle a leaky boat. Most often we get in trouble because of those time wasters we’re so fond of. In short, we’re bailing water into the boat instead of out. So what do we do?

Of the myriad possibilities, I’m going to ask you to join me in one. So grab your buckets and let’s start bailing water out again.

First, this is a fast. Most everyone is familiar with the concept. We fast by giving something up for a specific amount of time. So, choose one of your favorite time wasters to give up for a minimum of 2 weeks. We could end there, but we’re not going to. You see, we’re not only going to fast from, but we’re also going to fast to. Any time we take something out, it leaves a void. When we don’t fill that void, we feel it keenly. Simple enough, right? Just like a smoker who trades his cigarettes for gum, we’re going to trade up from our time wasting habits. Quickly imagine the place you want to take your dream boat. Now, whatever that entails, fill the void with actions that will get you there. These actions are what you are fasting to. They are the destination.

I hope that in this challenge, all of us will come one step closer to discovering the ship that will carry us to our dreams. My fast begins the first of September. I’m taking a break from TV and movies to spend more time writing and editing my children’s books. Will you join me?

About Kirk

I enjoy life and have been blessed with many different experiences. An eye for the underlying truths that surround me accompanies a growing faith in Christ and God that informs my world and reveals small miracles and beauty surrounding me every day. This is the major reason I felt led to start Dance of 2 Companies - a dance studio where I can share all the little amazing things God's taught me through life as a dancer - about myself, about others, about marriage... and most importantly, about Him.
This entry was posted in Explore... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

